Seven Natural Wonders

by Alfie FEATHERSTONE on July 30, 2009

We have the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World, and in 2007 100 million people voted in the selection of the seven manmade wonders. The winners then were the Colosseum, Italy; the Great Wall of China; the Taj Mahal, India; Petra, Jordan; Christ the Redeemer Statue, Brazil; Machu Picchu, Peru; and the Pyramid at Chichen Itza, Mexico.

Now, 28 finalists in the New7Wonders of Nature competition have been shortlisted from 77 top spots around the world. On this list of spectacular natural landmarks are the Great Barrier Reef, Uluru, the Grand Canyon, the Matterhorn, the Amazon rainforest, the Dead Sea, Mount Kilimanjaro in Africa and Ecuador’s Galapagos islands.

People can vote by internet or phone. The winners will be announced in 2011 and share in the glory already enjoyed by the seven man-made wonders chosen two years ago. Over a billion people are expected to join in the voting.

It is hoped that the project will contribute to the appreciation and knowledge of the natural environment. A panel of experts chose the finalists among the 77 nominees that gained the most votes in an early round of polling.

When the campaign began, there were 441 nominees from 222 countries, eventually whittled down to the current 28 finalists.

High voter participation has come from Asian countries, including Indonesia, India, Bangladesh and Vietnam, as well as from Latin America.

Choosing world wonders has been a continuing fascination over the centuries. UNESCO keeps updating its list of World Heritage Sites, which now totals 890 places.

More details are available at

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post: Paris: Le Bristol

Next post: Montreal offers European flair without euros